Institute for Social and Economic Change

Karnataka Rajyotsava Extension Lecture Series

Seminars and Training

Recent Seminars and Workshops

Recent Training Programmes

Karnataka Rajyotsava Extension Lecture

V.K.R.V. Rao Memorial Lecture

L.S. Venkataramanan Memorial Lecture

ISEC Public Lecture Series

Seminars by Visitors

Seminars by Faculty



Sl. No.


Name of the Speaker


1 January 6, 2022 Shri Suresh Heblikar
Noted Cinema Artist and Environmentalist
Films and Environment
2 December 29, 2020 Prof. K.V. Raju
Karnataka Rajyotsava Awardee 2020,
Economic Advisor to the Chief Minister, Government of Uttar Pradesh, Lucknow
How Improved Governance in Uttar Pradesh has Enabled Better Management of Covid – 19 and Migrants
3 November 14, 2019 Dr. N. Shaik Masthan
Professor, Department of History &
Director Nadaprabhu Kempegowda Centre for Humanities and Social Sciences Jnana Bharathi, Bangalore University, Bengaluru
Karnataka as Depicted by Arab Writers
4 December 8, 2017 Prof. S. Bisaliah, M.A., P.hD(Minnesota)
Economist and Former Vice Chancellor, University of Agricultural Sciences, Bengaluru
Constitutional Compulsions for Social Justice
5 November 17, 2015 Shri Subroto Bagchi,
Co-Founder and Chairman of Mindtree Ltd., Bengaluru
Platform and Purpose
6 December 10, 2014 Shri Chiranjiv Singh, IAS (Retd.) Former Additional Chief Secretary, & Former Development Commissioner of Karnataka Government of Karnataka Cultural Significance of the Rajyotsava & its Growth over the years
7 December 04, 2013 Mr. Justice N. Santosh Hegde
Former Judge of the Supreme Court of India Former Lokayukta of Karnataka State
What's Left of Indian Democracy?
8 December 17, 2012 Dr. Ullas Karanth,
Director for Science-Asia, Wildlife Conservation Society and Director, Centre for Wildlife Studies
Recovering Fragile Species in a Crowded Sub-Continent
9 December 29, 2011 Dr. Chandrashekhara Kambara,
Jnana Peetha award winner & Life Member of ISEC Society
Karnataka Rajyotsava Extension Lecture
10 December 10, 2010 Smt. Arundhati Nag,
an eminent Theatre Personality
My Journey in Theatre
11 November 19, 2009 Prof. P. Balaram,
Director Indian Institute of Science, Banaglore
Academic Research and Innovation
12 November 27, 2008 Prof. K Kasturirangan,
Director, National Institute of Advanced Studies (NIAS), Bangalore
Social Dimensions on Indian Space Programme
13 November 23, 2007 Mr. Justice Rajindar Sachar,
Chief Justice (Retired), High Court of Delhi

Constitution, the Executive, Legislature and the Courts

14 November 14, 2006 Shri M Veerappa Moily
Chairman, Administrative Reforms Commission, GoI

Knowledge Society and Caste-Based Reservations

15 November 19, 2005 Prof. T V Ramakrishnan,
DAE-Homi Bhabha Professor, Banaras Hindu University

Investing in Higher Education and Research

16 November 26, 2004 Shri K V Subbanna,
Well-known theatre personality and winner of 1991 Ramon Magsasay Award for Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts

My Concept of the Community

17 November 15, 2003 Dr. S L Bhyrappa,
Eminent Kannada Literature, Critic and Novelist

Art and its Applications

18 November 27, 2002 Prof. C N R Rao,
Noted Scientist and President of the Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research

Science in the Future of India

19 November 27, 2001 Prof. Roddam Narasimha,
Director, NIAS

Some Thoughts on the Scientific, Industrial and other Allied Revolutions

20 November 27, 2000 Shri N R Narayana Murthy,
Chairman & Managing Director, Infosys

Have Economic Principles Mattered in Indian Policy Making

21 November 30, 1999 Mr. Justice M N Venkaachalaiah,
Former Chief Justice, Supreme court of India

The Constitution and Social Justice

22 November 4, 1998 Mr. Justice Rama Jois,
Former Chief Justice of Haryana and Punjab High Court

Human Rights and Bharatiya Values at Karnataka Youth Centre

23 November 22, 1997 Shri T R Satish Chandran,
Former Principal Secretary to the Prime Minister of India

Infrastructure for India’s Development

24 November 18, 1996 Prof. B V Sreekantan,
Eminent Physicist

Science and Society in the 21st Century

25 November 17, 1995 Dr. U R Rao,
Dr. Vikram Sarabhai Distinguished Professor and Member, Space Commission

Science and Technology as an Instrument of Socio-Economic Change

26 November 24, 1994 Mr. Justice E S Venkataramiah,
Former Chief Justice of India

Directive Principles of State Policy in Indian Constitution

27 November 26, 1993 Dr. Raja Ramanna,
Director, NIAS

Technology Transfer and Non-Proliferation at the Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan

28 November 23, 1992 Shri M Y Ghorpade,
Minister for Rural Development and Panchayat Raj, GoK

Whither Economic Policy and Performance

29 November 8, 1991 Dr. U R Anantha Murthy,
Noted Kannada Writer & Professor of English

Haa Savigannada

30 November 10, 1990 Shri R K Laxman,
Times of India

Growth of Political Cartoon in India

31 November 27, 1989 Prof. N Mukunda,
Indian Institute of Science

The Nature of Science and its Value to its Society

32 November 06, 1986 Justice Shri Nittoor Srinivas Rao
Former Chief Justice of Karnataka
Samyukta Karnataka : Yesterday Today and Tomorrow
33 November 05, 1986 Shri R.R. Diwakar
Former Governor of Bihar
Samyukta Karnataka : Yesterday Today and Tomorrow
34 November 04, 1986 Shri S. Nijalingappa
Former Chief Minister of Karnataka
Samyukta Karnataka : Yesterday Today and Tomorrow

 [The Institute] [Current Research] [Ph. D Programme] [Seminars and Training]

  [Academic Departments/Units] [Library & Documentation] [Information Technology]

[Publications] [Faculty] [Vision 2020] [Home]