Institute for Social and Economic Change


The Institute


Past Chairmen

Past Directors

Birds Eye View


Board of Governors

Life Members

Memorandum of Association & Rules & Regulations

Bye-Laws, and Service Rules

Functions and Objectives




The Governor of Karnataka is the President of the ISEC Society. ISEC is governed by the Board of Governors consisting of eminent academicians and social scientists elected from among founder / life members and representatives of Government of India, Government of Karnataka and Indian Council of Social Science Research (ICSSR). The Director of ISEC is a member of the Board of Governors as well as the chief executive of the Institute.


His Excellency Shri Vajubhai Rudabhai vala
Governor of Karnataka,
President, ISEC Society



Board of Governors  

Dr. Ravindra A, IAS (Retd.)
Former Chief Secretary, Gok
No. 470, 9th Main, 2nd Cross
HAL II Stage, Indiranagar 
Bengaluru – 560 038
Phone: 080-25297852 (Res.)
Director, Member Secretary
Professor M G Chandrakanth
Institute for Social and Economic Change
Dr. V K R V Rao Raod
Bengaluru 560072

Professor R S Deshpande
National Fellow, ICSSR
#405, 5th Main,
Kendra Upadhyayara Sangha Layout,
Nagarbhavi Bengaluru - 560 072


Professor K P Kannan
Sariga K1,
Priyadharshini Nagar
Pongumood, Trivandrum – 695 011
Email :
Professor  Narasimha Reddy D.
# 3-33-33,
L. Venkata Reddy Colony,
Lingampalli, Hyderabad - 500 019
Professor V K Natraj
No.102, “Sri Lakshmi Apartments”
6thMain Road, Jayalakshmipuram
Mysore - 570 010
Email :
Professor Shashanka Bhide
Madras Institute of Development Studies (MIDS)
79, 2nd Main Cross, (P.O. Box-948),
Gandhinagar, Adyar
Chennai-600 020 Tamil Nadu
Professor K. Sudha Rao
S-2, Stanbury Court, 60 Feet Road,
Sanjay Nagar, Bengaluru-560094


Professor Sujata Patel
Department of Sociology
Central University of Hyderabad
Gachi Bowli
Hyderabad 500046
Professor Surinder S. Jodhka
Centre for the Study of Social Systems
School of Social Sciences
Jawaharlal Nehru University
Room No:11, SSS-II
New Delhi – 110 067
Professor Valerian Rodrigues
Gratia Plena, Ullas Nagar,
2nd Cross Kavoor,
Mangalore – 575 015



Academic Staff Representatives
Professor D. Rajasekhar
Professor and Head, Centre for Decentralisation and Development (CDD)
Institute for Social and Economic Change,
Dr. V.K.R.V. Rao Road Nagarabhavi, Bengaluru – 560 072
Email :


Dr. C.M. Lakshmana
Associate Professor, Population Research Centre (PRC) Institute for Social and Economic Change, Dr. V.K.R.V. Rao Road Nagarabhavi, Bengaluru – 560 072
Email :


Co-Opted Members
Professor Ashwini Deshpande
Department of Economics
Delhi School of Economics
University of Delhi
Delhi - 110 007
Email :
Shri Nagarajan L.V., IAS (Retd.)
No.52, 5th ‘A’ Cross 16th Main,
B.T.M. Layout 2nd Stage,
IAS Officers Colony
Bengaluru-560 076
Email :
Professor Padmini Swaminathan
School of Livelihoods and Development
Tata Institute of Social Sciences
2nd Floor, S R Sankaran Block
AMR-APARD Campus, Rajendra Nagar
Hyderabad – 500 030
Dr. Siddalingaiah, Ex-MLC
# 398, 4th Cross,
43rd Main Ideal Home Town Ship,
Rajarajeshwari Nagar
Bengaluru – 560 098
Nominee of the ICSSR
Prof. V.K.Malhotra
Member Secretary
Indian Council of Social Science Research 
(Ministry of Human Resource Development) 
JNU Institutional Area,
Aruna Asaf Ali Marg 
New Delhi-110067 
Ex-Officio Members
The Secretary/Addl. Secretary
Joint Secretary
Ministry of Finance
Dept. of Economic Affairs
Government of India
New Delhi
The Secretary/Addl. Secretary
Joint Secretary
Ministry of Human
Resource  Development
Dept. of Education,
Shastry Bhavan
Government of India
New Delhi
Shri. I S N Prasad, IAS
Principal Secretary,
Finance Department,
Government of Karnataka
Room No. 255, II Floor
Vidhana Soudha
Bengaluru 560001
Shri. Bharat Lal Meena , IAS
Additional Chief Secretary to Government Education Department (Higher Education)
Room No:645, 6th Floor
M S Building, Dr Ambedkar Veedhi
Bengaluru 560 001
Dr. Rajneesh Goel,  IAS
Additional Chief Secretary to Government,
Department of Planning, Programme Monitoring & Statistics
Government of Karnataka
IV Stage, III Floor, M S Building
Dr Ambedkar Veedhi
Bengaluru 560 001
Professor  B. Thimme Gowda
Vice Chancellor
Bangalore University
Bengaluru 560056
symbols.gif (368 bytes)

wb00771_.gif (436 bytes)


[The Institute][Current Research][Ph. D Programme][Seminars and Training]
  [Academic Departments/Units][Library & Documentation][ Information Technology]
Publications] [Faculty][Vision 2020][Home]